Rant — Silicon Valley, the place all dreams come true

The last time I updated this blog, I talked about how I was starting my new job as a reporter at The Republican-Herald in Pottsville, Pa. Things are going fine there and I’ll admit that I’m learning a lot. While working at The News-Item taught me what being a member of the media means, where you need to juggle multiple tasks and be ready to work long hours, the RH is a big step up from where I was at before. Most days I’m working split shits from 9 a.m. until about 3 p.m. and going back to work at night from about 7 to 10 p.m. to cover a meeting. On top of this, while I said I was going to be blogging for AndroidGuys, that didn’t exactly work out and right after that I started blogging for Akihabara News, where I was going to be interning last summer after my time in China (FYI, that didn’t work out). I also still write the Technoholic blog I created at The News-Item, again the name is since I consider my love of technology almost an addiction and it gives me a place to share my thoughts and some news.

While I feel I’m getting tons of experience and probably averaging about 10 to 12 hours of work a day, including my work at both the RH and for Akiba, I’m realizing this isn’t what I want for the rest of my life. I also feel I’m not exactly getting to make the best use of my skills anymore either. At the NI I was able to write an entry for my blog and then write a larger, more in-depth story for the newspaper. They would compliment each other. I was also able to shoot video footage and do stuff that was more creative and new media centric. Also, northeastern Pennsylvania isn’t exactly the technology mecha of the world. And because of this, I know the place I want to live and work is Silicon Valley in California.

If you follow me on any social networks, you’ll notice that my world basically revolves around technology. I can’t get enough of it. Since I’m so enthusiastic about it, I know that it’s the best place for me. I recently read a post on Lifehacker, which got me thinking even further and the title was “If You Wouldn’t Do Your Job For Free, Then Quit.” Right now writing for Akiba, I’m doing it for free, just as I don’t get paid any extra for Technoholic. I think that speaks for itself.

Recently I’ve been planning how I’m going to get there. I even considered going back to graduate school and applying to San Jose State University, but it’s not the easiest thing now since it costs a lot of money, which I don’t have, and right now isn’t the best time to grow my education loan debt. Now the plan is to work as hard as I can to keep gaining experience and eventually try to get a job there and make the move. I don’t think it would be wise to move out there then search for a job as it would be a huge gamble.

Hopefully I’ll eventually get the job of my dreams, which would be either working as a technology journalist or working for a technology company as part of their media team. Seriously, when other people dream about going to Hollywood and becoming an actor/actress or working in TV, I dream about going to Silicon Valley and working at a big name tech/social media company like Google or Facebook. I think I know enough about their products, Google especially seeing as I consider myself a Google and Android power user, to be able to inspire and inform others. On a side note, I think I know enough about tech since for my blogs and also news stories, I not only cover my favorite devices like mobile phones, tablets and computers, but other things as well like gadget accessories, software, solar technology, and even miscellaneous things such as these new devices with color e-ink screens that a hospital in Japan is using to keep patients informed from the time they arrive, until the time they leave the hospital.

If you got to the end of this, thanks for reading my rant. I realize I’m still young, being only 24, and have already accomplished so much, I travelled to Japan, graduated from college, worked in China, and now am at my second full-time job as a professional reporter, but while others are working in their dream job, like another guy I know from Penn State who works at IBM, I can’t wait to attain mine too. Also, that picture above the post was taken by my friend Tarun who was recently in San Jose. I think it looks beautiful, especially since I heard the weather stays around 60 to 70 degrees year-round.

Anyway, I’m starting to realize as long as you follow a path that you set yourself and stay true, you’ll eventually get to where you want to go.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

