Vietnamese spring rolls… or “tacos” as I called them!

This was about 2 days ago, but I never got around to posting it since I’ve been busy preparing for China, trying to find a flight, apartment and preparing information to get my visas, but Jackie and I made some Vietnamese spring rolls! Being the retard I am (haha), I originally called them “Vietnamese tacos”. We made them once last summer when Jackie’s friend came to visit and they were amazing, so fresh tasting, that we had to give it a try – plus, me being the foodie that I am, had to post this on my blog.

These spring rolls had pretty basic ingredients. We bought these Vietnamese spring roll wraps that get soft when you dip them in warm water, Thai basil, mint, shrimp, lettuce, rice noodles, shredded carrots, beansprouts and peanut sauce. All of the ingredients were as fresh as you can get in State College, we even had to de-head and peel the shrimp – sorry if I gross anyone out with that photo below of the brains coming out from when we were preparing them.

Basically all you need to do it put the wrap in water then fill it with all the ingredients you love and wrap it like a burrito. With the basil and mint, we basically just put one at a time in each spring roll, meaning not mixing the herbs and putting a couple leaves of the single ingredient. We had one other herb as well, but I can’t seem to remember what it was, they were all fairly similar looking to me. None the less, they were all delicious no matter what ingredients you put in it.

For a warm day, this is a perfect fresh, light and healthy meal. It doesn’t get any better than this. Enjoy!

UPDATE: You can also use cilantro. That was the last ingredient that I couldn’t remember, Jac just informed me (LOL).

Some finished spring rolls next to one before it’s wrapped.

Wrapping a Vietnamese spring roll.

Om nom nom 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Foodie

Leave a Reply

